Alan Rickman: 1946-2016

Today, the news has reported one of the saddest things of 2016 so far. Die Hard, R0bin Hood and Harry Potter star, Alan Rickman, has died; aged 69.

I had a morning of catching up on some Once Upon A Time (I know, I’m so behind!), when I took a break to get some tea. While I was sipping away at my drink, I decided to catch up on the day’s events when I see an article published by the Metro only 7 minutes prior. It had reported that Rickman’s family had confirmed that the actor had died, after suffering with cancer. I had to stop drinking my tea, as I was overcome with a sense of sadness.

Deciding then that my OUAT viewing could wait, I needed to speak to friends and family about this. I tuned into BBC News, and the app had sent me a notification also confirming the reports of Alan Rickman’s death.

I have admired Alan Rickman for his work in Harry Potter. The shady character you’d not usually associate with a hero was something that made his character interesting. Also his work in Love Actually was something I too admired. Love Actually is one of my favourite films of all time. Again, the character he portrayed was “so in the wrong”, yet he brought this character to life with a sense of humour and comedy.

4ea42dac21caa610bdfed8be2af61047
Alan Rickman played Professor Severus Snape in the Harry Potter film series.

 

There are many of us across the world who will be saddened to hear the news of Alan Rickman. He was taken away from us too soon.

My deepest condolences go out to his family and close loved ones.  May he rest in peace.

Thank you for being with us.

Rhysaphine (A Harry Potter fan-child)

(Feature Picture Credits: alanrickman.info)
Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

